Formulas for String Quartet

Tom Johnson

  • Year of composition: 1994
  • Instrumentation: string quartet


ISRC CAA4J2210048

Formulas is the first Johnson string quartet, premiered by the Brindisi Quartet in 1994. It comprise of eight movements, each following a mathematical formula.

“The logic of the Formulas for String Quartet is easily perceived. Even when the music goes by too fast to enable one to count notes and analyze exactly what is happening, one hears that the music is following a strict logical sequence. While composing, it was useful for me to try to define this logic more precisely and mathematically, and it seemed important to do so. I wanted to be able to show that these sequences really are formulas, and that the title is not just a metaphor.“