Daydream Mechanics

Michael Oesterle

Daydream Mechanics

  • Michael Oesterle
  • Year of composition: 2001
  • Duration: 12:00
  • Instrumentation: string quartet
  • Commission: Quatuor Bozzini

The phrase “Daydream Mechanics” is taken from the title of a book by French-Canadian poet and novelist, Nicole Brossard. This quartet recalls the awkward adventures of childhood when the backyard seemed as full of fearsome possibilities as any unexplored geography. The simple mechanics of controlling ones own maneuvers make a challenge of a cultivated wilderness.


Daydream Mechanics was titled Daydream Mechanics V through 2020.


  • April 29, 2001, Concert, Schwartzsche Villa, Berlin (Germany)
Interview: Michael Oesterle: Daydream Mechanics; Michael Oesterle: String Quartet No. 3 “Alan Turing”; Michael Oesterle: String Quartet No. 4; Michael Oesterle: Three Pieces for String Quartet; Bozzini Quartet; Michael Oesterle; In English, French; March 2022