The New & Avant-garde Music Store

Artists Ana Sokolović

Ana Sokolović was born in 1968 in Belgrade, Yugoslavia. She studied composition at the University of Novi Sad with Dusan Radic and at the University of Belgrade with Zoran Eric, prior to completing her master’s degree at the Université de Montréal with José Evangelista. Her repertoire includes orchestral and piano works and several chamber music compositions. She has also written numerous theatrical scores. Between 1995 and 1998, Ana Sokolović received three prizes from the SOCAN Foundation Awards for Young Composers. In 1999, she was awarded two prizes in the CBC National Young Composers’ Competition, first prize in the “Chamber music” category, and the major prize, in “All categories.” In 2005, Ana Sokolović received the Joseph S Stauffer Prize from the Canada Council for the Arts. In 2007, she was awarded the Prix Opus — Composer of the Year and in 2008, the SOCAN Jan V Matejcek Prize for the “présence exceptionnelle de la musique de concert pour l’année écoulée“ (exceptional concert music presense during the past year). In December 2009, she received an award from the National Arts Center in Ottawa consisting of commissions, artist-in-residencies and teaching projects for the next five years. In 2005 she created her first opera, The Midnight Court, performed by the Queen of Puddings Music Theatre Co. During the summer of 2006 the work had its European premiere at London’s Royal Opera House. Currently she teaches composition at the Université de Montréal. In 2011-12, Ana Sokolović was the Société de musique contemporaine du Québec (SMCQ) Homage Series composer, an event where her works were showcased at more than one hundred events and concerts.


Ana Sokolović

Belgrade (Serbia), 1968

Residence: Montréal (Québec)

  • Composer

On the web

Ana Sokolović [Photo: Clemens Merkel, Reykjavík (Iceland), October 2006]
Ana Sokolović [Photo: Clemens Merkel, Reykjavík (Iceland), October 2006]
  • Bozzini Quartet, Ana Sokolović

Main releases

Collection QB / CQB 2026, CQB 2026_NUM / 2020
Collection QB / CQB 1925, CQB 1925_NUM / 2019


Collection QB / CQB 0805 / 2008


Naxos / NAXOS 8573304 / 2016
  • Not in catalogue

By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.