Quartetski was formed in 2007 by Montréal composer, multi-instrumentalist, and producer Pierre-Yves Martel as a vehicle to rethink and reinterpret the works of great composers through the lens of creative improvised music. The group maintains the composers’ spirit while using their compositions as laboratories for sonic experimentation, resulting in a compellingly heterodox chamber music. Quartetski’s instrumentation can change depending on the project, but often features the thoughtful and delicate incorporation of electric and electronic instruments to expand its sound-palette dynamically. To date, the group has investigated repertoire by Prokofiev, Stravinsky, Satie, Bartók, Purcell, and Cage, for instance, with forthcoming projects on Feldman and Wolff in the works. Listeners who are familiar with the original compositions will be surprised and delighted by these experimental re-workings, while first-time audiences will find them to be invitingly contemporary points of engagement. More

On the web


Montréal (Québec), 2007

  • Performer (ensemble)

Group members

Main releases