Dead Squirrels

Dead Squirrels is a noise music trio (Alain Lefebvre, Emilie Payeur, Philippe Vandal) occasionally accompanied by a video artist (Pierre Paré-Blais). Drawing from no-input feedback, modular synthesis, stereo field recordings, short loops, traditional instrumentation such as saxophone and drums, as well as electromagnetic signals from everyday devices such as cell phones, power adaptors and remote controls, Dead Squirrels’ music, though purposefully experimental, seeks to capture a certain tension between fluctuation and form. While their aesthetic embraces tests, transgressions and the fragility of the signal devices used to produce their sounds, the trio is equally concerned with achieving a consistency that ultimately develops into a presence of musical form and structure. More

On the web

Dead Squirrels

Montréal (Québec), 2015

  • Performer (ensemble)

Group members

Main releases