Masami Akita

Merzbow is one of the pioneers of the extreme scene, alongside the likes of Hijokaidan and London Ontario’s Nihilist Spasm Band. During this time he has released an insane amount of noise documents, including four on Alien8 Recordings. It is quite difficult to argue with Merzbow’s title, the king of noise. He reinvents himself on each new release, with a lot more change than your average band. The releases on alien8 recordings are all drastically different, comparisons between releases like Akasha Gulva and Aqua Necromancer are like night and day. More

On the web

Masami Akita

[昌美 秋田]

Tokyo (Japan), 1956

Residence: Japan

  • Composer
  • Performer


Main releases