Cage, the group’s fourth release on Ambiances Magnétiques, is at once entirely consistent with the group’s ethos and a radical departure. Those familiar with Pierre-Yves Martel’s broader body of work –– with or without Quartetski stalwarts Philippe Lauzier, Bernard Falaise, and Isaiah Ceccarelli –– will recognise qualities in these pieces, Four6 and One7, that characterise his own music more directly than the group’s previous, excellent releases: Thoroughly deliberate sound-making, attention to timbres in their manifold richnesses, space, and a calm spirit of discovery. And yet, like all Quartetski projects, Cage declares its fidelity to the radical vision of its composer-namesake. In this way, by underscoring the affinities shared by both interpreters and composer, this may be the most ‘personal’ Quartetski record, but achieves this condition, paradoxically, by purging the personal, ridding this music’s execution of the ego in such a satisfying, consummately Cagean way. — Scott Thomson


CD (AM 264)

  • Label: Ambiances Magnétiques
  • AM 264 / 2021
  • UCC 771028126422
  • Total duration: 60:07
  • Sympathique case
  • 126 mm × 126 mm × 5 mm
  • 35 g

Download (AM 264_NUM)



For any way of producing sounds (vocalization, singing, playing of an instrument or instruments, electronics, etc.)

Choose twelve different sounds with fixed characteristics (amplitude, overtone structure, etc.) Play within the time brackets given. When the time brackets are connected by a diagonal line, they are relatively close together. When performed as a solo, the first player’s part is used and the piece is called One7.

For Pauline Oliveros to celebrate her sixtieth birthday and for Joan La Barbara, William Winant, and Leonard Stein.

One7 (for four players)

For any pitched instrument able to play sustained notes.

Each player derives a chromatic tone row obtained using chance operations. All four players use part 1 and play within the time brackets given. Registers are not fixed. The musicians think and act as one individual, playing together as much as possible, or not.

For Joane Hétu and Danielle Palardy Roger.

Some recommended items