Of The Waves

Hobson’s Choice / Michael Davidson, Rebecca Hennessy, Harley Card, Felicity Williams, Michael Herring, Dan Gaucher

Exaltant! Revue & Corrigée, France

A follow up to the group’s two independently released EPs, Of The Waves is a collaboration between Hobson’s Choice and producer Jean Martin of Barnyard Records. Of The Waves is the newest release from the label known internationally for producing some of Toronto’s finest creative music.

Over the past four years Hobson’s Choice has developed into a tightly knit ensemble embracing elements of jazz, chamber, and singer-songwriter traditions. Of The Waves was recorded over the course of a week at a family cottage near Napanee, ON. It is a compelling document, with sound-worlds ranging from midnight deep-woods marimba ballads to sunny cicada-sung anthems.

Paying homage to artists like Joni Mitchell and Bruce Cockburn, Hobson’s Choice has built upon this Canadian songwriter foundation and extended it through their unique instrumentation and fresh approach to song form. Through its inclusion in the internationally renowned Downtown Toronto Jazz Festival and its alignment with Barnyard Records, this much-anticipated release will gain access to a wider audience. It is sure to mark exciting things to come in the development of Hobson’s Choice as they present their music to more audiences throughout Canada and worldwide.

CD (BR 0329)

  • Label: Barnyard Records
  • BR 0329
  • 2012
  • UCC 777320169525
  • Total duration: 57:52
  • Digipak
  • 126 mm × 141 mm × 6 mm
  • 75 g

On the web

In the press