actuellecd The New & Avant-garde Music Store

Nouvelle musique d’hiver Joane Hétu

This item is also included in the Tryptique musique d’hiver box set (AM 904).

… une réflexion sonore sur l’hiver à la fois originale et nécessaire. SOCAN, Paroles & Musique, Canada

Nouvelle musique d’hiver ou l’hiver et ses beautés, ses petites et grandes misères. Revue & Corrigée, France

Nouvelle musique d’hiver consists of four movements in which musicians improvise from a canvas and compositional design.

  1. Joyeux temps: evocation of the first snowfalls and the Holiday season
  2. Être dans le vent: a tribute to wind and fire
  3. La marmotte: hibernation, boredom and pleasure
  4. Calcium sloche: a blend of end-of-winter madness and springtime activity

In Nouvelle musique d’hiver, Joane Hétu is amplifying the microscopic aspect of natural sounds and integrating them to the sporadic interventions from electronic and pre-recorded sounds, and the pre-recorded recitation. Abandoning the melodic and tonal nature of the first installment, Hétu has produced an evocation of winter sounds set in a stripped-down sonic amalgam — a real audio documentary about winter.

Nouvelle musique d’hiver was recorded live in March 2003 by Bernard Grenon at the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, during the first Festival Montréal / Nouvelles Musiques (MNM). The work was performed by Ensemble SuperMusique, consisting of Jean Derome, Guillaume Dostaler, Joane Hétu, Diane Labrosse, Pierre Tanguay (all featured on the first installment, Musique d’hiver), and also Lori Freedman, Martin Tétreault and Gilles Derome.


  • 44,1 kHz, 16 bits


  • 44,1 kHz, 16 bits

This item can be downloaded and/or listened to at

Not in catalogue

This item is not available through our web site. We have catalogued it for information purposes only.

Nouvelle musique d’hiver

Joane Hétu

Ensemble SuperMusique (ESM)

Some recommended items